Life in England

I pass out on the train | A stranger to the rescue | London train crew is pretty fantastic

On my way to work I take the train. Usually when I travel there are no seats and it is fairly crowded so I am standing the whole time. This is normal, and feasible. Sometimes if it’s a bit hot, or my backpack is especially heavy, or I lock my knees I can feel a bit dizzy but the feeling usually passes.

This week the feeling did not pass. I had one stop to go when I started feeling dizzy and sick, but I told myself to hang on. Leaning against the pole in the middle of the train I remember staring at this man in front of me, he had a friendly face but I wondered what he would think of me now if he looked my way. I must look ill or angry or incredibly out of it. Then I wondered what my work would think if I passed out on a train. What would I do if I did pass out, what would they say if I sat down, they would ask questions and I would hate that.

‘Hey are you okay?’ a hand was shaking my arm. I opened my eyes, realising just then that they had closed and I was slumped on the floor against the pole. The young man with the kind eyes was asking me if I was alright. I immediately started mumbling apologies, trying to gather myself. I had fainted, not again! And there was no clear reason. He asked where I was going, one more stop I told him.

He helped me to my feet and off the train. I expected him to then walk off with a nod, or something already having done his kind deed. I thanked him and moved to leave. He suggested I go to the train crew manning the platform. Surprised, but pleasantly so I learned that they could help if you were feeling ill. I sat down and they got a few medics or nurses, they got me water, helped check my blood pressure (which was low apparently) and helped me until I was feeling better.

I am writing about it because to me, it was all very unexpected. When I passed out I felt embarrassed and assumed I would need to pull myself together and fend for myself. It is a cliche, but I think it is worth recording moments when people are kind. It is good to remember and commemorate little moments. It was nothing outrageously monumental from any one individual, but it was an assortment of small things from various strangers that collectively made my day immeasurably better.

They say Londoners can be cold. They can also be warm and friendly. Here’s to kind strangers.

One thought on “I pass out on the train | A stranger to the rescue | London train crew is pretty fantastic

Leave a comment